Panomania!

I love shooting panoramic photographs. “Oh, he’s shooting another one of those panos,” was a common refrain from my mom while I was traveling with her through Cambodia recently. I’ve been doing it for years, ever since stitching photos together to make a pano was a largely manual, finicky process on a Mac. Check out this one of Main Street in Whitehorse, Yukon, from December 21, 1997.

Nowadays pretty much every camera and smartphone can automatically create panos. I mostly use my iPhone 5, which is capable of producing near-perfect panos no matter what. I also use a Google Nexus 4 which has a new feature called “Photo Sphere,” but that’s generally pretty hit and miss. But when it hits, the results can be spectacular. Just for fun, here are a few of my favourite panos that I’ve shot recently. Despite the technology, though, panos are extremely prone to error, which is one of the things I like about them. The visual aberrations often make for interesting results.

Tagged , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 381 other followers

