Palm Treo 650 For Sale [UPDATE]

Palm Treo 650 GSM







UPDATE
This Treo is no longer available.

Anybody wanna buy a used Palm Treo 650 smartphone that’s in awesome condition?

It’s a CDMA model (for Bell in Canada, though it doesn’t sport any provider’s logo), includes a 128 MB SD card, a Palm leather case with belt clip, an unopened pack of screen protectors, and licenses for the following software products:

(I should note that the Treo pictured at left is the GSM edition; the CDMA version has a slight blue tint to parts of its body.)

I’m asking $475 for the package (though I’m open to offers). Fire me an email to andrew at woolsock dot ca and we can chat. Alternatively, post a comment with your contact info — I won’t let it go public and I’ll contact you directly.

So… why am I selling one of my most beloved devices? Good question.

The easy answer is one word: size.

But, as with all things, it’s more comlex than that.

While the Treo 650 is a gorgeous machine and performs superbly well, it doesn’t easily fit into my pocket (i.e. “Is that a Treo in your pocket or are you just happy to see me?”). I love the form factor in general, however, I just found it didn’t suit my particular style of device use.

It’s so big in fact, I found myself often leaving it on my desk and missing calls. Of course, I find the current iPods too big and much prefer my svelte nano, despite the fact it’s not as feature rich.

On the flip side, the Treo 650 is fun. It can do so much and has such a functional depth to it that I often found myself, well, just playing with it. This, however, is not conducive to productivity, so makes up a contradictory reason for having to part ways with the device.

The Palm interface is brilliant and intuitive. I’ve seen Blackberries and didn’t like them half as much. The Treo 650 is clearly the smartphone to beat in the current markeplace.

What it came down to in the end was cold, hard usability. And, while I know a lot of people love to use the Treo 650, I had some major portability and productivity issues.

Motorolarazrv3cssI purchased a Motorola RAZR V3c this morning from the Bell Store here in the Horse. After stopping by to check the unit out, I loved how it just slipped into my pocket and was vitually imperceptible there. My only main requirement (other than it being a phone) was for Bluetooth sychronicity with my Mac. The rest of the phone’s (minimal) capabilities are just icing. (On a side note it took all of 10 seconds to set up the phone with my Mac via Bluetooth, pretty sweet.)

Ironically, the salesguy I dealt with had a Treo 650 clipped to his belt and he loved the unit. Personally, I can’t handle having a large device like that hanging off my side. Clearly, though, this was of no matter to him.

In the end, what’s it all boil down to? Personal preference. It’s too bad that long-term usability from a subject perspective takes so long to assess.