Bookmarks, Bloody Bookmarks

Bookit IconIt’s not a one-browser world anymore.

Web sites, despite their best intentions, tend to work best in a certain flavour of web browser. Some like Firefox, others like Safari, still others prefer Opera (yeah, go figure). Then there are those times when I personally seek the unique functionality of a particular browser, such as Omniweb‘s “workspaces”

There’s never a moment that I don’t have multiple windows from at least two different browsers open and I often cycle between them without regard for which window belongs to what web browser. Until I go looking for a bookmark, that is. Each browser features its own method of bookmark storage and they simply don’t share real nice. So if I happen to be in Firefox and go looking for a bookmark I stored in Safari, things can get frustrating really fast.

Well, it used to be that way, actually. Recently I came across a killer little app called Bookit from Everyday Software. Bookit is a beauty conduit that maintains perfect bookmark harmony between all my web browsers. And if you subscribe to .Mac, it can maintain this synchronicity across multiple machines, too.

Now my bookmarks are always identical in all my web browsers. So if I save one bookmark in Firefox, I can use Bookit to sync the change across to Safari, Omniweb and even up to .Mac. (And those are just the browsers I use; Bookit also supports Shiira, Camino, Mozilla, iCab, Opera, Internet Explorer and Netscape.)

If you’re a Mac user with multiple browsers in your life, the $12 licensing fee is a small price to pay for an app that makes things so much easier.

3 thoughts on “Bookmarks, Bloody Bookmarks

  1. I tried to accomplish the same type of bookmark sync using Del.icio.us across multiple browsers: Firefox has an its own Yahoo! extension and Safari uses a custom plugin.While the browser experiences were solid, I really don’t like having to go to Del.icio.us to post the bookmark and tag it, then return to the page I was previously at. Often times this was a minute long procedure, whereas compared to bookmarking in Safari takes about 5-10 seconds. If you’re not into the whole “social bookmarking” thing (huh?) Bookit seems like a much smarter solution.

  2. There is also Google Bookmarks, which stores items on-line and has various plug-ins for Firefox. It’s what I intend to use when I finally get myself organized enough to do it.

  3. I really like the functionality of having my own bookmarks as sort of personal workspace without additional burden of logging to the Del.icio.us. Personal bookmarks, keychain and Address Book entries are all the information I deem as ‘private’ and most importantly some of the contents have multilevel hierarchy – so far I have not seen this functionality in bookmarkleting systems. I guess the Del.icio.us and other derivatives are just not my cup of tea.Recently, I’ve started to use OmniWeb its workspaces component. I’ve acquainted with this approach of desktop-controlled customized workflow without a hassle; more importantly, without having to access to rather technologically less mature Web-based solutions.

Comments are closed.