Lenovo’s Lameness

Lenovo MastheadAs I mentioned in my previous post, my new Lenovo ThinkPad X60 Tablet PC arrived yesterday.

Overall, I’m pretty stoked with the unit itself. However, some relatively minor issues have heavily tarnished the generally positive sheen of my user experience. Other than the Windows-related problems I pointed out earlier, these are due to some miscommunication and bad decisions on Lenovo‘s part.First, Lenovo broke a contract they formed with me when I was making a purchasing decision. Under the section “Preloaded Software” on their ThinkPad X60 Tablet site they promised me three pieces of software (see the screen grab at right from the Canadian web site):Lenovo X60 Tablet Preloaded Software

  • Microsoft Vista Business Edition
  • Microsoft OneNote 2003
  • InterVideo Virtual Drive

Only the last of these three applications was present on my system. I, of course, was aware that my unit was shipping with XP, but I include the reference to Vista here as an example of the conflicting information on Lenovo’s web site.

However, I’d actually called up Lenovo’s sales department to confirm OneNote 2003 was preinstalled, so I’m particularly disappointed with its absence.

Another minor issue that’s served to irritate me significantly is the lack of optical backup and restore media. Instead, Lenovo uses a significant portion of the ThinkPad’s internal hard drive as a repository for a backup operating system for emergency recovery.

Two things bug me about this:

  1. I have to burn my own backup media. Not a huge expense for me, but then it wouldn’t have been for Lenovo, either. Their consideration for my time would have gone a long way to improving my initial user experience with their device.
  2. Lenovo misrepresented my hard drive’s capacity. They advertised the hard drive in my unit as being 80GB, yet over 10GB of that is gone to the emergency restore partition. Lenovo should be more forthcoming on their web site about this scenario. Worse, to reclaim that space, I must reformat the entire drive and perform a fresh Windows install.

After my first day with a new ThinkPad, I am left with this initial impression of Lenovo: their outstanding hardware engineering prowess is overshadowed by a clear lack of skills in marketing, communications, and software development.

2 thoughts on “Lenovo’s Lameness

  1. Well, welcome to the real world of windows. Like the MS OS the hardware is never what you expect it to be. Unlike the Mac, which gives you eveything they say is on the system, windows hardware suppliers give you tastes, sometimes, of what you can have. Also, most of the hardware vendors no longer provide disks, only the files on the system which you have to copy. If you don’t copy them and you need them, then open up your wallet because they’re not free.

  2. Pingback: The Geek Love Effect…? « Geek Love

Comments are closed.