Earth to NBC: It’s Business, not War

News.com reports this morning that George Kliavkoff, chief digital officer at NBC Universal, is calling on Apple to build anti-piracy technologies into iTunes.

I have a better idea: let me buy your content.

NBC and Apple are engaged in a lover’s spat these days, unable to agree on pretty much anything. It all started last year when they publicly carried on about pricing. Then Apple either kicked NBC out of the iTunes Store or NBC quit it. Nobody know how it played out for sure.

This childish behaviour doesn’t benefit either company. Both seem intent on engaging in political media warfare more than serving the interests of consumers, and in the end that type of behaviour won’t benefit anyone.

The bottom line is, consumers want to access NBC’s content as painlessly as possible. iTunes is currently the simplest and easiest way to do this. The two companies need to gain some maturity and institute an interim situation that serves consumers’ interests and take their bickering into the back room. Really, we don’t want to hear about it. We just want to watch Lost.

Because the more their dispute is prolonged, the stronger that alternative channels of media distribution will become. NBC calls that piracy; I call that necessity. Developing and instituting anti-piracy technology will accomplish squat. Hasn’t Mr. Kliavkoff heard about that dismal failure called DRM?

I download Lost from the BitTorrent network out of necessity. I’m not a criminal, there’s just no other way for me to access this content through online channels. I’m not interested in cluttering up my personal space with discs, so I won’t buy the DVD sets.

But I would pay if NBC would choose to offer me the opportunity to do so. For some funny reason, however, Mr. Kliavkoff’s company has decided to make that impossible for me.