2 thoughts on “why microsoft is dead

  1. I wonder about the future of Microsoft. Particularly the Windows side of things. I won’t be upgrading to Vista or the Windows 7 that follows (hello, Mac!). I’m not even sure that MS can pull off a version 7 after the Vista reset fiasco. And I’m a moderate Microsoft supporter–too many way-smart guys in Redmond to discount offhand.I sense a moat being dug around Windows and Office by a phalanx of uber-metric managers, Balmer at the lead. They’ll defend those two profit centres until there’s nothing left.Sad, really. I always wished for a 1/3-1/3-1/3 market share for Win, Mac, and *NIX, to keep things moving and competitive. But thinking in terms of operating systems really isn’t useful anymore.

  2. Poking the developers’ playground here. My fellow developers whom I work with use the .NET framework on daily basis as their primary joint for developing Windows standalone software.They have commented several times on erratic behavior of the tools (just for the record, we use genuine software and hardware), fundamental inconsistencies in the framework multiplied by incoherent documentation. The WPF (Windows Presentation Foundation) is a prime example here. Several crucial methods that worked under XP have been re-implemented, but they do not work as expected, at least with regard to the UI.Something has gone totally wrong in the MS world. I feel it’s more related to management than to deficiency of novel approach in designing new technologies. The old methods have stopped working and folks at Redmond still have no clue why that has actually happened. Apparently, they have obliterated several symptoms much too long.As Dave did, I have always wished for the market share to be differentiated. That surely stirs competition and overall quality of software. And with this spirit in mind I wish MS well. But if MS does not catch up soon, its fate will surely be doomed. What tragic ramifications that potential downfall might incur on software businesses.

Comments are closed.