northwestel selling ad space on the cable guide? tsk tsk

Ad Space on Northwestel Cable GuideDon’t get me wrong: I’m not anti-advertising. A lot of advertising is good.

But there’s a time and a place for advertising. And hogging more than 10% of my television screen when I’m trying to browse the guide for something to watch is neither the time nor the place.

Check the image at left: a banner ad for 24 on Global. What’s up with that, Nortwestel?

I don’t know about you, but I already feel a bit raped by the amount I pay every month for cable television. It’s humiliating that on top of that I have to suffer lame and redundant commercials during the programs. It’s salt in the wound to have to put up with on-screen banner ads that reduce the amount of the program guide I can see.

This is tantamount to the commercials that the studios foist on you at the start of every DVD you buy. If they gave the damn discs away, commercials would be cool, even expected. But when you have to pay, the price of the disc should preclude any further commercial messaging.

Same goes here: I pay good money for cable. I want 100% of my guide. Lose the banner ads, Northwestel.