Privacy groups challenge Facebook on new settings

I wholeheartedly agree with this assessment. What’s more, the privacy settings are still a mess with multiple different parameters for different features. It’s a period of user-beware on Facebook.

The idea that personal photos and comments can be seen by all 350 million Facebook users has angered privacy groups.

The complaint, filed by the Electronic Privacy Information Center and signed by nine other privacy groups, argues that the recent changes “adversely impact users”.

“Facebook’s changes to users’ privacy settings disclose personal information to the public that was previously restricted,” the complaint read.

“These changes violate user expectations, diminish user privacy, and contradict Facebook’s own representations,” it goes on.

via BBC News – Privacy groups challenge Facebook on new settings.

One thought on “Privacy groups challenge Facebook on new settings

  1. The photo settings drive me crazy. I put that ‘only friends’ can see my albums but they can be re-posted by any of my friends and posted again by any of their friends.

    How far have my pictures gone?

    I think the original poster should have to approve every time someone wants to re-post their album.

Comments are closed.