How Big is Apple’s New Data Centre?

In my upcoming column I mention in passing that Apple’s new iCloud data centre is 500,000 square feet. That sounds pretty big, but it’s really just a number. So I began to wonder: how big is that compared to something I know, like the city I live in.

Well, it turns out it’s pretty freaking huge. Here’s Apple’s data centre superimposed over the downtown core of Whitehorse:

Apple iCloud Data Centre in Downtown Whitehorse

Apple iCloud Data Centre in Downtown Whitehorse

And here it is down by Wal-Mart and Canadian Tire (pretty much the two largest buildings in Whitehorse, I believe).

Apple iCloud Data Centre Compared to a Wal-Mart

Apple iCloud Data Centre Compared to a Wal-Mart

And, for my mom’s benefit, here’s the Apple iCloud data centre in her neighbourhood.

Apple iCloud Data Centre in Taipa, Macau

Apple iCloud Data Centre in Taipa, Macau